A Stitcher's Stitchings

Oh, for the love of cross stitching….and a few ramblings

Tuesday update June 19, 2012

Filed under: Updates,WIP — K. Marie @ 11:25 PM
Tags: , , ,

I got some stitching done and while it doesn’t look like that much to me, when compared to the other picture I see how far I’ve gotten. When you look at it closely you can see the first footprint and on the top left it’s supposed to be a sea shell. There is some outlining work that needs to be done on it so I think it’ll look better once that is done.

image

I took another picture from farther away so that you can see how it looks compared to how much of the fabric it’s on (It’s as far left as it’s going to be. Those are the farthest stitches to that side, my fabric is a bit bigger than necessary.) and I must admit, it looks quite a bit better from far away. You can see how it looks like it’s shaded in because of the different colors that were used. I like this picture of it.  😀

image

But, as you can tell I have quite a bit more to do. I think that this is only the bottom half or so of the fabric so I still have the right side and then the top sides of the cross to do. I’m enjoying doing it though and hoping I can keep it hidden for a while longer. Wish me luck!!

*I forgot to mention, this has a 28 count fabric with it and I was supposed to stitch over 2 on it. I thought to myself “Why do that when I can save the 28 and use a 14 instead and stich over 1?” But, I didn’t have a 14 on hand that would fit the pattern so I am using an 18 count and the finished size should just about fit into an 8×10 frame. I’m hoping that it still looks good. I’ve only stitched on 14 count before so stitching on 18 is a bit of a challenge for my eyes. (Plus now I think I need a new Rx for my reading glasses. What perfect timing, huh?)

 

5 Responses to “Tuesday update”

  1. Ginny Says:

    Wow, you stitch fast! It’s looking great! I can tell it’s a footprint in the sand. It will look lovely on 18ct. Go get your eyes checked! I waited several years, using magnifier glasses all over the house and a year ago I finally went and got tri-focals. I LOVE them! I told the doctor I really want to see my cross stitch and he did. It was so wonderful to see clearly again. You will be happy.

    • K. Marie Says:

      Thank you. I’m glad you can tell what it is. That means it’s coming out right. Lol.
      I’m definitely doing go get my eyes checked. I knew I first needed glasses because I would get really bad headaches when I looked at something up close, then the glasses made everything much clearer. But now I’m having the headaches again and it’s only when I wear the glasses. I hope a new prescription will help.

  2. cross(stitch)yourheart Says:

    Looks excellent so far! I love 18count fabric myself but it does get hard to see after a while, especially if you’re doing light colors on light cloth or dark colors on dark cloth. And I love your new wordpress theme by the way, it’s really fun 🙂

    • K. Marie Says:

      I agree. I had a hard time with the cream and yellow and I have to stitch white on white. Eeek!! Not looking forward to that one.

      Thanks for the compliment. I wasn’t too sure I was going to like it but the more I look at it the more and more I like it.

  3. Dani Says:

    That is going to be lovely! Look at all the detail in just a wee corner!


Leave a Reply

