A Stitcher's Stitchings

Oh, for the love of cross stitching….and a few ramblings

New (real) gold needles June 26, 2012

Filed under: General Cross Stitchings — K. Marie @ 12:01 AM
Tags:

I was a bit disappointed to find out that my needles I ordered which were supposed to be gold actually weren’t, they were simply gold holed needles. I didn’t realize until I opened them but figured that I would give them a shot. They did work a bit better than the other needles I had been using but I was always on the lookout for actual gold needles.

When we went with nana and her family to Michael’s this weekend I spotted some and hubby so graciously bought them for me.  🙂

image

I’m so happy that I finally got some and can’t wait to use them. Since I still have so much to do on the Footprints I’m going to finish working with the thread then use the gold ones. I’ll let you know how they work out!!

 

14 Responses to “New (real) gold needles”

  1. All of mine are gold-plated. They’re much smoother than silver needles and don’t snag in the fabric!

    • K. Marie Says:

      I’m starting to agree with that. I was using it last night and they seem to go through with a small push and tug instead of feeling it a bit “gritty”, for lack of a better word. I think I may be converted to gold needles. 🙂

      • Since I discovered them I won’t use anything else, and I buy them in bulk from eBay for a mere few pounds 🙂

        How are the frames working out for you? I’ve yet to work on a piece that large, but am curious as to whether or not a frame is worth the investment?

      • K. Marie Says:

        I’ve thought about getting them from eBay but I’m still a bit confused on what needles to use for what fabric.
        The scroll frames are awesome!! It kind of narrows down the area that I can see (I can see about 3/4 of my current fabric area) so I focus on completing all of that part first then I simply scroll up or down. Right now I have my project on 14″ split rails and I think either 9″ or 10″ sidebars. I do highly recommend these frames. I also like the magnet on the sidebar that holds my needle so I don’t have to leave it sitting in the fabric holes.
        I’d recommend looking at the projects that you plan on doing in the near future and see which scroll and sidebar sizes will be best for you. I have 2 of each now so I can mix and match them.

      • The more I see you working with the frames the more I want to give them a try!

        The needles I use are about a size smaller than the silver needles that come with the kits – I give the silver ones to my husband for clothing repairs.

      • K. Marie Says:

        What are you using right now to hold your work? I have only used the scroll frames and hoops (and free handed which I don’t recommend) and I prefer the frames much more.

      • I’ve always used hoops so far in my stitching “career”. The only frames I’ve ever managed to find online have been battered-looking and nasty – but I live in hope 🙂

      • K. Marie Says:

        I have only ever used hoops prior to using these frames. I told myself that I was going to use this brand and then try out the other one that I got but I ended up just sticking with the Rolaframes. I love them because they have little needles/nails on the inside of the split rails that hold the fabric so it won’t slip off.
        This is where I got mine: http://www.downsunshinelane.com/rolaframes.htm.
        I would recommend the 13″ sidebars because just about any project will fit on there. You can always scroll up or down so I don’t see the point in getting one custom made for more money.

  2. kaghos Says:

    just gold overlay

    • K. Marie Says:

      Yes, it’s just gold overlay but it does make a difference in how it goes through the fabric. I didn’t know that the material that is on the top layer of the needle would make such a difference but it really does.

  3. Ginny Says:

    I have never used gold needles before. Thanks for the heads up, Missus Tribble. I may have to pick some up the next time I am out shopping. Maybe I should look in my stash first to see if any ended up in there. I know for sure I have never tried stitching with gold needles, but maybe I had picked some up along the way and just forgot about them. I know you guys would never do anything like that. Hehe.

    • K. Marie Says:

      I definitely recommend it!! Who knows, maybe you do already have some. I’ll just look the other way as you grab them out of your stash instead of from the store. Hehe

  4. I prefer to use the gold plated needles, too. Mainly because my skin tarnishes the regular ones too quickly. I like the John James the best, but that’s just my own personal preference. They seem to last longer for me. I’m not sure if you’re aware, but a GREAT online cross stitch site is http://www.123stitch.com. That’s where I buy most of my fabric, patterns and needles. The service is excellent and prices are very reasonable.

    • K. Marie Says:

      I can honestly say I haven’t had a problem with my needles tarnishing. Maybe I just haven’t used them long enough for them to get tarnished. Hmmm….
      I’ve checked out 123stitch.com but I think that some of their prices are a bit high sometimes. My first go to site when I want a new kit or pattern is abullrun.com. They usually get my orders to me within 2 days of my placing it. Thats pretty fast for me!! Lol


Leave a Reply

