A Stitcher's Stitchings

Oh, for the love of cross stitching….and a few ramblings

My first ever cross stitch magazines June 27, 2012

When we were at nanas we went to Michaels so she can pick up some things and we got there right when they were closing. As soon as we walked out of the store and they had closed the store bug tells me she has to go potty. Really?? There was a B&N across the way so we shot over there so she could go to the bathroom. Of course, once we got in there everyone had to go and look at their sections that they were interested in.

I started looking for cross stitch books but the only one I found was an Ed Hardy cross stitch patterens book and that’s not something that I would stitch so I got discouraged and bug and I wandered around the store. We ended up in the magazine section and I was able to find quite a few cross stitch magazines.

After looking through them I found 2 that had Joan Elliot patterns in them. I jumped at the chance to get them. They’re Cross Stitch Collection, 6/2012 – Issue 210 and Cross Stitch Gold, 8/2012 – Issue 31 (which is shown as issue 93 too so I’m not sure which number it is).

I am looking forward to doing the Sleeping Beauty in Gold and the Butterfly Fairy in Collection. I’m probably going to do the Geishas in Gold for my mother-in-law because she has a whole front room decorated with orientals and it’d go perfectly. I’m not going to lie, I really wanted the patter for Joan Elliot’s Summer Goddess but they didn’t have it in the issue yet and the people and B&N don’t know when they get the next issue in. I’m going to have to keep an eye out for it.

All in all, I’m so happy I picked these up and finally have some cross stitching magazines. I can honestly say that they aren’t going to be my last.  🙂

 

23 Responses to “My first ever cross stitch magazines”

  1. Ginny Says:

    I am glad you found the magazines. I have recently become addicted to The World of Cross Stitch, Cross Stitch Collection and Cross Stitch Gold. They are nice magazines, but I wish they were more easily accessible. The Cross Stitch Collection comes out about a month later here in the states than they do in the UK. I missed the first fairy issue and the last 2 issues I was lucky enough to get the last copy of each. I would like to get the rest of the fairies, but I am so afraid that I will miss them. Our closest Barnes & Noble didn’t carry them. I just picked up the Aug. issue of Cross Stitch Gold today with the Sleeping Beauty. Beautiful. I also like the Geishas. I am really looking forward to getting the next issue of Collection as Sweet Pea fairy looks so awesome! I think she might be my favorite.

    • K. Marie Says:

      Wow. I’m glad you snagged up the last 2, I want to get the next issue of both Collection and Gold but the B&N we went to was in San Antonio and we don’t go down that often anymore. This means I either have to pick a weekend and go into Austin and hope they have them or wait and get whatever one is available when we go back to SA. 😦 Those aren’t 2 options I like. Lol.
      Hopefully we can figure out how to snag them up. 😉

      • Ginny Says:

        I have been finding mine at Joann Fabrics. Do you have one of those close to you? Check them out. Maybe they carry them. They are the only place here that I know of that carries them. My LNS don’t even carry them.

      • K. Marie Says:

        We really don’t have anything near us except Walmart. Everything else craft related I have to go into Austin for. But I guess now I have an excuse to go check out Austin; hubby will just have to suffer through it for a day. 😉

      • Ginny Says:

        Just tell hubby that you will be spending quality time together.
        @ Missus Tribble: I too have tons of cross stitch magazines in my garage. And have given stacks away over the years. I am a magazine junkie. I admit it. And now I have the expensive UK cross stitch magazines to add to my list of “have to pick up every month magazines”.

      • K. Marie Says:

        I’m not sure that’ll work. As soon as we get inside the store I take off and sometimes leave him and bug trailing behind me. Hehe.

      • Ginny Says:

        Yes, but you will have quality time with him on the drive there and home. Maybe there are some other shops close by that hubby and daughter can visit while you shop??

      • K. Marie Says:

        That’s true. Maybe I can compromise. We go to my stores then check out what else there is then I’ll buy lunch. That’ll definitely get him. 🙂

  2. I love cross stitch magazines! That Ed Hardy book was the first cross stitch book I bought and my first ever project was a bird from it! I got my first cross stitch magazine when I was looking for a Christmas Card kit for my boyfriend’s parents, I picked up a copy of Cross Stitch Crazy as the card was really unique and different from the more ‘traditional’ ones and it only needed a little bit of stitching, which was what I wanted as I hadn’t been stitching very long and I wanted to get it ready for when he went home for Christmas! Since then I have got a subscription to Cross Stitch Crazy and I buy its sister magazine The World of Cross Stitching. I have also had a couple of copies of the Cross Stitcher magazine, the latest one in particular as it had a VW Camper on the front cover! Beware…the magazines are addictive!

    • K. Marie Says:

      I’ve seen the card magazines but didn’t know if it was something that I’d like doing. I know it’s still cross stitching but making something into a card seems like a bit more work than I’m used to. I only started stitching last year!! Maybe I’ll check them out though.
      I completely believe that it’s addicting because I’m already looking through them to see what’s coming out in the next issue so I can get those too. Uh-oh, the addiction begins. 🙂

      • The magazines I get aren’t specific to cards, it just came with a free kit of one =) I like doing other things because I find it hard to part with them once I have made them! Ooh I only started last year too! Haha yeah I’m exactly the same!

      • K. Marie Says:

        I know how you feel. I look at projects and think that it would be nice to make it for so and so then this one for someone else and so on. But when I finish working on them I think that I get too attached and don’t want to give them away. Lol.
        Thats awesome that you only started last year!! Now I can pick your brain for some tips and tricks on how to do things. 😉

      • It’s really sad because most of my projects just end up in a box when I have finished them! But I do it because I enjoy making them, so I don’t mind if I can’t admire every final product!
        Haha I can’t promise I will be much help but my mum got me into cross stitching and she has been doing it for over thirty years so she can answer anything I can’t! Haha

      • K. Marie Says:

        If I don’t want to give mine away then I usually go to the store and buy frames for them so that I can hang them. I’ve got frames on standby and have even thought of doing a couple of small ones and putting them together like a collage. I think that’d look nice.

      • Ooh that’s a good idea! I han’t thought of that!

      • K. Marie Says:

        I’m going to try and do that, one day, when I’m done with all of the other projects I have lined up. Lol

      • Haha I know how you feel!

  3. I am a confirmed addict of Cross-Stitcher Magazine! I have piles of them in my sewing cupboard, containing patterns that I am desperate to begin – but I promised myself I’d finish the ones I have on the go already first!

    • K. Marie Says:

      I’m the same way, minus the piles and piles of magazines. 😉 I only do one project at a time otherwise I’d never get anything finished. But now I want to be done with this one already so I can do one from one of the magazines!!

      • Heheh, it’s the autie in me; I get bored with just one project and always have to have several on the go! I think I’ve completed three designs in my entire stitching career (a sunflower, a mini-TARDIS and David Tennant as The Doctor)! I have so many that are almost finished except for the backstitching that it’s quite embarrasing really! 🙂

      • K. Marie Says:

        Lol. Well at least you know that if you feel too bad about not having another one done then you can simply pull out one of the “almost finished” ones and do the backstitching then get back to your rotation. Hehe.

  4. threadwarsliz Says:

    The Cross Stitcher is also a really great cross stitching magazine. I like it because the designs are always cute and very contemporary. They are hard to find though! Every once in a while I will find one at Joann’s Fabrics or Barnes and Nobles but they are starting to disappear.

    • K. Marie Says:

      I’ve seen a few of those at B&N, but not many. It’s really hard to find cross stitch magazines in general in my area. You have to go to certain B&N’s in the city to be able to find some. I wish that they were carried in more stores. 😦


Leave a Reply

