A Stitcher's Stitchings

Oh, for the love of cross stitching….and a few ramblings

Take a close look…. August 4, 2012

Filed under: General Cross Stitchings — K. Marie @ 10:17 PM
Tags: ,

image

Do you see that little dot on the left side of the word during? Yes it is a french knot. What is so important about this french knot? Well, it’s the first one that I was able to make on my first try!! After doing 2 1/2 projects, all having french knots, I was finally able to accomplish it on my first try. I like to believe that this means my skills are improving.  🙂

Here is a close up of my masterpiece….

image

I know there is really nothing too special about it but I just had to share what I was able to do. Now hopefully I’m not jynxing (I have no idea if that is how you spell it) myself with all this excitement.  😉

 

9 Responses to “Take a close look….”

  1. Mrs M Says:

    French knots and I don’t mix. I generally just replace them with a seed bead!

  2. I’m with Mrs M, I do the same, but congratulations on your knot! 😀

    • K. Marie Says:

      Yup that’s it. Thanks to u and Mrs M my projects are now going to be french knot less. Hehe. Now I just have to stock up on seed beads. Hmmm….

  3. Sue Pollock Says:

    Congrats! French knots are always a major pain for me but I’ve found that if I can manage to use both hands, they are a lot easier! But again, congratulations, and on your first try too!

  4. Ginny Says:

    Your knot looks great. I have never been able to do french knots well at all and truly dislike them. I like Mrs. M idea or using a seed bead instead.

    • K. Marie Says:

      Thank you. I think that after this project I’m never going to use french knots again. I’m just going to stock up on seed beads of all colors so that I will have one for whatever project I’m doing. I wonder if there is anyone who actually likes to do french knots? Who invented them?? They shouldn’t be allowed to do any more cross stitch. Lol.


Leave a Reply

