A Stitcher's Stitchings

Oh, for the love of cross stitching….and a few ramblings

Spicing up a mani August 9, 2012

Filed under: Nail art — K. Marie @ 1:52 PM
Tags: , , , ,

Because our nails are already polished I figured why not add some oomph to them? We had a little stamping session today and here’s the results:

Bug got stars and polka dots on her fingers

image

And I added some actual gold colored stars to her thumbs

image

Mine was a little simpler, just a nice whole nail design

image

The two of us used the same purple, China Glaze’s Harmony, for the stamping and it came out really good.

image

This just goes to show that you don’t have to buy the uber expensive special made polishes for stamping. There are regular polishes that work just as well and may even look prettier cause they have a bit of a shine/sparkle to them.

 

5 Responses to “Spicing up a mani”

  1. Ginny Says:

    Love those nails, girls. I will have to get some of the China Glazes to try out on my stamping. I love the patterns on both of your nails, too. I am really hooked on the metallics using the magnet and I really can’t add any stamping to them. I’ll have to ogle your nails instead. Hehe

    • K. Marie Says:

      Oh I’m so jealous of your magnet metallics Ginny!! I want one of those so badly but everytime that I go to the store they are all sold out. 😦 I guess everyone in my area loves them too. Maybe they just need to restock them quicker; I think I will have a word with the manager. Hehe.

      • Ginny Says:

        The metals are so awesome. I should post a pic of the purple I am wearing. It is awesome. It is one of the Sally Hansen ones. I love the magnet on the Sally Hansen ones-it is much easier to use and starts to work almost immediately. I love the brownish color of the the China Glaze Metallix-reminds me of cat’s eye. The horse shoe magnet is a little more difficult to use and takes longer to work. And it is a smaller magnet. I hope that both companies come out with different magnet designs as they are so awesome! I can’t find the red Sally Hansen Metallic here. Always sold out, but I can find the other colors. I can pick up for you if you need.

      • K. Marie Says:

        Are there different brands that have magnetic polishes in their line?? I’ve only seen the one. Well I actually haven’t seen it except once. Hehe. That’s sweet of you to offer to grab me one but I’ll keep looking for the magnets over here and see if I can find a red one here. If there is ever any left, watch it be the red one. I’ll snag one up for you too so you can have it. 🙂

      • Ginny Says:

        The only ones that I know of are Sally Hansen’s magnetic and China Glazes Magnetix. With the Sally Hansen ones, the magnet is a cap over the polish cap. Each polish has it’s own magnet. The China Glaze are called Magnetix and you have to purchase a separate magnet that is in the shape of a U and there are 3 different designs on the magnetic. Let me know if I can pick up something for you.


Leave a Reply

