A Stitcher's Stitchings

Oh, for the love of cross stitching….and a few ramblings

Hump day update August 15, 2012

Filed under: Updates,WIP — K. Marie @ 9:54 PM
Tags: , , , , ,

I’ve completed the wording!! That took so much longer than I thought it would. But it looks pretty good and I’m happy I got it done.

Here’s a close up of the stitching part I finished

image

After I finished the wording I stitched the other outline of the top part of the cross so I can fill in the sides.

Here’s the cross so far

image

Not all of it is shown because it’s on a scroll frame. I prefer it that way though because I can’t see the entire work until it’s fully completed.Β  πŸ™‚

Now most of the top parts are half cross stitches so I hope it’ll get done quickly. I’m just worried too much of the fabric will show though because the pattern calls for 1 stand of thread too. We’ll see!!

*I forgot to mention that I’m saving the top part of the cross with the big word footprints and a big shell for last. That way it’ll tie it all in together.Β  πŸ™‚

 

15 Responses to “Hump day update”

  1. That’s looking great! Don’t worry about the amount of fabric showing through. At first the half stitches will look too bare, but once you step back and see the full effect it will be perfect. This is coming along beautifully!

    • K. Marie Says:

      Thank you!! I think I needed some encouraging words. I just don’t want to feel like I put so much time into this pattern and then it comes out differently than what it should look like. Since it’s for hubby I really want it to look good. πŸ™‚ Maybe I just need to take a breath and not worry about it too much. Just breathe.

      • I know exactly what you mean! The A-10 jet that I’m currently stitching is a gift for my boyfriend and I want it to be perfect. Yet, I created the pattern from a picture using software and I’m not sure that it’s going to turn out as perfectly as I would like. I’m going to complete it, though, and I might have to tell him to stand back and squint his eyes when looking at it because it’s an ‘abstract’ piece of art. lol

      • K. Marie Says:

        I like that idea. Just saying that something is abstract if it didn’t come out right may be something that I will have to do in the future. It’ll really be my own work then. Lol.

  2. Sue Pollock Says:

    Oh my, you’ve made such great progress on this one. It looks GREAT! And I’ve worried about too much fabric showing when using one strand myself but in the end, the effect of the one strand looked great. In fact, if I had used two strands, it would have been too much. Trust the designer and go by the directions; I truly think that you’ll be pleased! Now…keep up the wonderful job and I’ll look forward to next Wednesday’s update. ~~Hugs~~

    • K. Marie Says:

      I think I’m going to just have to suck it up and follow the pattern. I think it’s just bothering me because I don’t have the other parts next to it. Thanks for following my updates!! πŸ˜€

  3. Ginny Says:

    Look at you go, girl! This is looking so fabulous!! If you are worried about too much fabric showing with one strand, do a little with 2 strands and do a comparison. It’s your piece and you need to be happy with it in the end. As Sue said above, 2 strands may be a bit much, but if you do it both ways, you can compare and make a better decision by seeing it both ways. It is looking so awesome!

    • K. Marie Says:

      I think it might make a difference in the depth perception or whatever the designer was trying to do. I’m just going to keep on going along and hope that it all comes together in the end.

      On the plus side, I’ve already gotten quite a few half stitches done!! I think that the left part is going to come together rather quickly. Hopefully my next update will show lots of progress!!

  4. cross(stitch)yourheart Says:

    this looks fantastic! I can’t wait to see it finished. And the wording looks wonderful, time well spent,

    • K. Marie Says:

      Thank you. The wording took FOREVER and a day to do. Ugh. πŸ™‚ But now that I’m on to the next part I can look back at it and think that it was all well worth it!!

  5. kirstyross85 Says:

    This looks brilliant so far, well done on a lovely stitch! I must admit the wording is one of my favourites x
    Don’t worry about the half stitch showing to much fabric, as others have said it works wonders for shading and doesn’t really make much of a difference to how much fabric shows through. One of the larger DMC kits I am currently working on shows half stitch and I worried for the same reason, but having completed that area I can honestly say it looks brilliant. I can’t wait to see some more updates x

    • K. Marie Says:

      Thank you!! I am quite fond of the wording myself. I think that’s the best part that I’ve done so far. I thought that all of the top parts were going to be half stitches but it has some whole stitches in it too. I think that takes a bit of the stress off of me.

      I do have to admit that the half stitches make it work up so much faster. Gotta love that!! πŸ™‚

      • kirstyross85 Says:

        It’s one of my mums favourites too, and it looks lovely on that kit x The mixture of the full and half stitches can be quite good, this is the link to the one I mentioned that I had done with some of both in it and I love the way it turned out so far:

        The centre circle’s background is half stitched and the little circles around the edge use both x
        You’re definitely right about how much of a time saver half stitches are too x

      • K. Marie Says:

        That’s a beautiful piece!! I definitely think that doing half stitches in the big circle was good and it gives it some depth, if that’s the right word.

        I’m getting started on the shells and now I’m back to full stitches. Hmph!! I miss those half stitches. 😦


Leave a Reply

