A Stitcher's Stitchings

Oh, for the love of cross stitching….and a few ramblings

Finally used my magnetic polish!! August 29, 2012

Filed under: Nail art — K. Marie @ 1:27 PM
Tags: , , , ,

I had some spare time today so I thought I’d give my new polish a go. I took off my old polish and put on a base coat yesterday so that cut down on the time I needed.

After reading the directions, I put one coat on and let it dry. And I must say I am extremely happy with the drying time, super fast.

image

Then I put on a thick coat and held the magnet above it. Here’s my thumb:

image

And the rest of my nails:

image

(Who is that puppy sleeping in the back? Lol.)

I love the way these turned out but it looks more black/purple then it does any color of pink. I can honestly say that I will be adding more of these to my collection. They are so easy to do and the effect is awesome.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚

 

6 Responses to “Finally used my magnetic polish!!”

  1. Ginny Says:

    Awesome! I knew that you would love it. Remember the red I said that I was looking for?? Well, the display nail at the store looked kind of red.. It turned out that I already had that color and it was more of a lighter purple. I love the color you have on. it’s probably my favorite.

    • K. Marie Says:

      I do love it!! Lol. So you were looking for something you already had?? You have to see the humor in that. Imagine if you hadn’t realized, you would be looking forever. ๐Ÿ™‚ Does that mean you have all of the collection? Which one(s) is your favorite??

  2. I love your nails! I’m not nearly as talented as you, though. I tend to use a base color and then just add a glitter polish over top. lol. Not very creative, but I’m a ‘bling’ type of girl. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I do have a question, though. I’ve just recently managed to grow my nails out to a nice length (no small feat!) and I’m not terribly impressed with the base coat/strengthener that I’m using. It seems like after two or three days my poilsh peels off of my fingernails. Do you have a good base coat/strengthener that you love? I’ve been using Sally Hanson (I think) Double Duty. Thanks!

    • K. Marie Says:

      I hate to say it but I have too many top coats and base coats!! Lol. The base coat that I absolutely love is Essie’s Grow Faster. It hardens and strengthens your nails while acting as an awesome base coat. It dries pretty quick too so you don’t have to wait forever to polish your nails. It’s around $8 which can be a bit expensive, but my bottle has lasted me 2 months or so and looks like it’s barely been used, so I also like Sinful Colors’ Nail Hardener. It’s a good one to use but if you have the $$ to invest in the Essie go for it!! As for top coats, I jump around a bit. I use (1) Sally Hansen Diamond Strength, I’m not sure if it’s still available cause I got it a while ago, and it works pretty well. (2) Sally Hansen Hard As Wraps which is good but takes a while to dry. (3) Sally Hansen Complete Care Extra Moisturizing 4-in-1 Treatment which I sometimes use as a base coat and top coat. It doesn’t take a long time to dry but you have to reapply it or your polish chips within a week. Lately though I’ve been putting my Essie base coat on as a top coat and while it takes a bit for it to dry it keeps my polish on for a good week+ with only a few chips. Whatever you do, DON’T buy the Sally Hansen Green Tea + Bamboo strengthener. That thing chipped and peeled my nails like never before. Sorry I was so long winded, but I hoped this helped.

      • Yes, it definitely did help! Thank you so much. I will have to see if I can find the Essie stuff around here. I need something that will keep my nails together. I am currently using my fiance’s glue that he uses to assemble his R/C planes to keep my thumb nail from splitting any more. I need to grow it out just a little more so that I can cut it down without it being painful.

      • K. Marie Says:

        Ouch!! I hate when that happens. Recently though I’ve been stabbing holes through my thumb nail with the needle. Not very fun. :-\


Leave a Reply

