A Stitcher's Stitchings

Oh, for the love of cross stitching….and a few ramblings

As promised…. September 20, 2012

Filed under: WIP — K. Marie @ 10:13 AM
Tags: ,

Here is my new WIP. It’s a geisha from one of the magazines that I got off of eBay. It’s the Cross Stitch Collection February 2006 issue. I was initially going to make her a different one but that didn’t work out, but that’s a different post.

Anywhoo, here is a pic from the magazine of the completed project

image

It’s a tall one and it is a 2 page spread in the magazine

image

Well, even though I’m young my eyes couldn’t see the symbols. So, after trial and error I was able to blow them up a bit so I can at least see the symbols. Now I’m working with 4 different pages. (Excuse the messy pic)

image

I have been working on the bottom half since late last week, Friday I think and I’ve made a bit of progress on it. Here’s what I have done so far

image

I have this one to do and then another one for my mom before Christmas. I hope I make it!!

*I’m sorry I haven’t been as active on here and I apologize to everyone who has left a comment and I haven’t replied to. Things have been busy lately and I’ll probably have a jumble of rambling posts throughout the week, just to warn you!!

 

16 Responses to “As promised….”

  1. Ginny Says:

    Oh wow! She is gorgeous! I love it. I have been thinking about doing an Asian RR and this piece would fit in perfectly! I’ll have to look and see if I have that magazine. I will totally enjoy watching you work on this one. You are off to a great start.,

  2. Ginny Says:

    Oh bummer. I just realized that is the UK magazine, isn’t it? I only just started collecting those for the Joan Elliotts. I’ll have to see if I can get a back issue.

    • K. Marie Says:

      I picked up a few CSC magazines at B&N but that was for the Joan Elliot too. There are quite a few on ebay and I’ve come to realize that most of them have a geisha of some sort in them. I have more geishas than I’ll ever be able to stitch.

      • Ginny Says:

        Hi. Can you tell me who the designer of the Geisha is? I’ll probably never be able to find that issue of the magazine, but perhaps I could purchase it from the designer?? The color’s in this one are gorgeous.

      • K. Marie Says:

        Hey Ginny, it’s an Anchor chart. It uses Anchor threads but I converted them into DMC cause I use those already and they are easier to find

      • Ginny Says:

        I just love this design. Usually the colors in the Asian designs are so bold, bright and colorful. I love the soft, subtle colors in this one. I will keep trying to find this pattern. Thanks.

      • K. Marie Says:

        I agree Ginny. This is the most unique geisha pattern that I’ve seen so far. I think it’s beautiful and simple at the same time.

  3. Sue Pollock Says:

    This is absolutely gorgeous! I’ve stitched two Geisha designs for my daughter and currently working on a third. And I know exactly what you mean about seeing the symbols. I always have to make working copies and then I make even larger working copies. Thank goodness for scanners, huh?

    I’m going to enjoy watching this one come to life! And good luck with the Christmas deadline. The two that I’ve stitched, the first one took 16 weeks and the other just under 13 weeks. And that was giving all my stitching time only to those projects. I truly don’t mean to pop your bubble but wanted you to know from someone that has stitched a Geisha about this same size.

    • K. Marie Says:

      I had to figure out how to do it with our scanner so I made a copy before I made my bigger copies. Lol.

      Wow I hope it doesn’t take that long. Hmph. Well I guess the presents may have to be a bit late this year.

  4. This one is pretty! I love the colors. I look forward to seeing the progress pics for this one. It seems that my projects are often multiple pages as well. I like to use a highlighter to color in the squares so that I know what I’ve already stitched. My dad was watching me stitch one day and he said, “Man, you’re a slow colorer. Give me your marker and paper so that I can do that for you. I’ll have it all colored in a couple of minutes!” Luckily he was just teasing. lol

    • K. Marie Says:

      I first thought it was going to be too big cause it was on multiple pages and the symbols were tiny!! But now I’m working with 4 different pages so it’s not too bad.

      Omg I would stab my hubby with my needle if he ever tried to color in my pattern. Lol. He knows not to knows with my cross stitch. Hehe

  5. cross(stitch)yourheart Says:

    Looks fantastic! I love geishas and have quite a collection of patterns to stitch myself. She looks beautiful in the picture and I’m sure she’s going to look even better when you stitch her. Can’t wait to see your project! (I can’t believe how far behind I am on checking your updates. I’ve been terrible with checking my emails these past few weeks.)

    • K. Marie Says:

      I’m feeling the same way about keeping up with everything. Things are a little too crazy for me to sit down and go through my blogs I’m following. *sigh*

  6. RavenThreads Says:

    I look forward to seeing this one come to life. I have several geishas in my “want to stitch” pile, but my pile grows so much faster than my actual ability to work. 🙂


Leave a Reply

