A Stitcher's Stitchings

Oh, for the love of cross stitching….and a few ramblings

Hump day update and happy halloween!! October 31, 2012

Filed under: Updates,WIP — K. Marie @ 11:31 PM
Tags: , , , ,

Happy Halloween everyone!! I hope everyone had a great day/night. It was quite an eventful one for us. Bug decided that she wanted to be Rapunzel from Tangled this year so after searching our town for a store that had the costume we finally found it at Spirit. It was the last one!! The crown that it came with broke but alas, Bug is ever so resourceful. She went into her room and dug out a crown that she had so she could wear it and be a real princess.  🙂  She got a doll for her birthday from her cousin, Thumper, that she has named Baby Rapunel and she thought that they were twins. She had to have a picture of them two together. This was after her evening out so her hair is in quite an interesting form.  😉

 

image

 

 

For Halloween, our town has an event in downtown where all the shops set up little booths so that they can pass out candy and the kids can even play games to win the candy. They had a lip syncing contest, which I had never seen before but it was interesting, and a costume contest and a pumpkin carving contest. But had a really good time and she got the hang of telling everyone trick-or-treat and getting candy. She loved that she got to play games for her candy and I’m starting to think that she is going to be a pro at making beanbags and balls into little slots or holes. Lol.

 

image

 

 

After trick-or-treating all the way down Main St. Bug started saying that her feet hurt so we headed back to the car and went to Whataburger to get something to eat. When we got home Bug told us that they didn’t put any chicken strips in her kids meal. Are you kidding me?! My princess is NOT going to eat just french fries for dinner!! I went straight back down there ready to give them a piece of my mind!! When I got there I saw how swamped they were and felt bad. I settled for a fresh kids meal and an “I’m sorry about that miss.” without any fight. All in all though it was a good night.

And now for the update!! This is what most of you are here for so here goes:

 

image

 

 

I haven’t looked back at last week’s update to see how far I’ve gotten but I feel like I’ve done a good amount of progress. I’m almost done with the lower half of the pattern and I’m looking forward to getting the top part started. Once I do the rest of the outlining on the dress and the little butterflies on the dress I’ll be done with the bottom. (I should’ve taken pictures of the details to show but I didn’t. *kicking self in the butt*)

The hardest part so far has been the lettering/symbols. I think that it’s because most of it was going through the fabric and I had to recount quite a few times because I had to make sure that it was spaced right. Plus my needle has a little bend in it because I struggled with pushing it through the fabric for the Krenik french knots so that didn’t help. I know most of you are going to say I should switch to another needle, but I’m determined to finish this project with the same needle I started it with. Then when I’m done I’ll have a fresh project and a fresh needle. I’m weird like that. Hehe.  😛

 

image

 

 

I have ordered 2 little pig cross stitch projects that I expect to receive within the next week or week and a half. I’m going to stitch those for my mom because she loves pigs. We actually had 2 pigs when I was growing up and it all started there. Now whenever we don’t know what to get her we find something with a pig and give it to her. Lol. Hopefully I’ll have time to finish the geisha and the 2 pig kits. *fingers crossed*

Until next time everyone, whip those stitches!!

 

7 Responses to “Hump day update and happy halloween!!”

  1. Sue Pollock Says:

    The work on your project looks wonderful! You are making excellent progress. And woohoo…another pig lover! I adore pigs so I’ll be eagerly awaiting those progress photos.

    • K. Marie Says:

      Thank you very much Sue. I’m expecting those pig kits next week but won’t be starting them until I finish my geisha. I can’t do more than one project at a time or nothing would ever get done. Plus I’m on a bit of a time constraint here. Eeekk!!

  2. Ginny Says:

    You are making great progress. I am so in love with the colors in this asian piece. You could do 10 stitches a day and I would still be in awe of it!
    Your little bug is a lovely princess and she looked like she had lots of fun trick or treating.

    • K. Marie Says:

      Thanks Ginny. I looked back at last week’s photos and felt quite proud of myself. I didn’t realize that I was able to do so much. The colors are substituted for the Anchor ones and are a bit less pastel but still look gorgeous!!

      Bug had a great time, the hard part was her picking out only 1 candy to eat last night after we got home. It was around 9:30 so I only let her eat one. It took her about 10 minutes to decide which one she wanted. Lol.

  3. cross(stitch)yourheart Says:

    I didn’t realize the magenta thread was metallic, but it looks fantastic in that close up. I’m jealous of how quickly you’re getting this project finished and it looks gorgeous! Good luck getting it finished! And I know what you mean about the fresh needle, sometimes I get a new one half way through a project because it just feels like I’m starting fresh.

    And your daughter looks adorable as a princess!

    • K. Marie Says:

      I’m so sorry it took so long to reply to you. Somehow I didn’t see this comment. But yes, the pink and the gold colors are both metallics. They give it a little sparkle and help me improve my french knots at the same time. 🙂 I’m hoping that I get this done quickly because I have 2 more smaller kits to do for my mom before Christmas. Then I can finally stitch something for myself. 😉

      And thank you for Bug’s compliment. She had a great time and I have a feeling she isn’t going to want to do Halloween any other way now. Lol.

  4. I’ve been busy with wedding stuff for the last month, but now that it’s over I’ve been trying to catch up on your blog. You’re making great progress!! I wanted to let you know that you aren’t the only one who feels that way about a needle. Unless the eye breaks on me I use the same needle all the way through a project. I don’t like to switch out needles in the middle unless I really have no choice.


Leave a Reply

