A Stitcher's Stitchings

Oh, for the love of cross stitching….and a few ramblings

My life so far…. June 27, 2013

Filed under: Ramblings — K. Marie @ 9:42 PM

image

 

So why am I staring down this mannequin? Well because she kept looking at me. Lol. This is a simple random post to let ya’ll know one of the most dramatic events that I went through, in a symbolic way, since I was last on here. The picture above is me with me old hair before I decided to get it completely re-done. It was okay but I wanted something more with an oomph and because I was trying to grow my hair out I wanted something that was going to be close to the color of my natural hair.

During the process:

image

 

My hairdresser Maria is an amazing stylist and I went to her to see what it was she could do with my hair. During my appointment I completely destroyed my phone case (don’t ever try to be cute and talk on your phone to your mom while you have dye in your hair, it just won’t work) and had to stay past closing time.

Fast-forward to 3 1/2 hours later and you have this:

image

 

I absolutely loved the ombre way my hair came out and I thought to myself that now I would be able to grow it as long as I wanted to. I’d curl it and straighten it and take care of it because I wanted it to stay looking this beautiful. Well after 6 months or so my hair had grown a bit, it doesn’t grow fast because I don’t have good hair genes, and I was okay with it. I was trying to decide how to wear it for when I walked the stage for my graduation.

I came up with this:

image

 

As you can see, it was a good bit longer than before and because it was cut in a v shape it was longer on the very bottom. I’d had it trimmed a few times but it was still growing good for me. I wasn’t too happy with this style and I couldn’t decide what it was that I actually wanted to do with it.

After a while I thought that since I was finished with school and I was starting a new chapter in my life I’d have a fresh start. On a bit of a planned whim, I’d thought about it but wasn’t sure how exactly I wanted it done until I got there, I ended up with this hair:

image

 

That is me and Bug after my graduation. My hair is all chopped off in a short above-the-shoulder long angled bob and it’s a deeper red color. I love it. I’ve started a new chapter in my life with being finished with school, Bug going to start school and finding a job that will eventually lead to my decision on what I want my career to be so I’m starting it completely fresh. I never thought that I was one of those people who did dramatic things when they started new parts in their life but looking back on this I’d say that for those who know me it’s the best way to describe what has been going on in my life.

I know this was random and a bit of nonsense but that’s a bit of my life. Bug also made her first big girl decision and got her hair cut from about the length of my old hair to how you see it now. She made most of the calls on it and even picked out the picture of how she wanted her hair. She sat over there with the stylist all by herself and wouldn’t let me see it until it was done. My baby is growing up and it’s making me so sad!!

Keep those stitches whipping!!

 

4 Responses to “My life so far….”

  1. cross(stitch)yourheart Says:

    The new hair looks absolutely beautiful and will be a great way to start the next chapter of your life! A great move! And good luck with the job search and new career, hope your new life starts out with a bang!

    • K. Marie Says:

      Thank you very much. As nervous as I was about it I’ll be honest and say it took me a few days to like it. Lol. Hopefully I’ll be giving an update soon about a new job!!

  2. You are beautiful! I love your new hair cut and style. You look very sophisticated. That new career is just waiting for you now.


Leave a Reply

